5 Question Interview #121

5 Questions - number 35 - name 50 - 121.jpg

With True Believers 2018 fast approaching, we put 5 Questions to Grayham Puttock...

What will people find at your table at True Believers 2018?

At my table you will find Closely, the mystery/horror graphic novel, for fans of The Wicker Man, Jacob's Ladder & the films of David Lynch. Circuside books 1 & 2 (book 2 is launching), a character-driven tale of bigotry and superstition revolving around the arrival of Queequeg's Circus in the tightly-wound town of Gwynn Gallows. Also sketches, prints, and a willingness to tell-all concerning the ups and downs of indie-publishing.

What do you love about creating comics?

Everything. Except Photoshop. I am rubbish with Photoshop. 

What part of creating comics do you find the most challenging?

I love the process of making up stories in my head, having conversations take place between characters and getting to draw all these things that bubble and swell all the time in my brain. The challenge is making it work for the reader, that balance of show and tell, the difficult art of telling the story so that it makes sense for the reader and is enjoyable. Oh, and drawing cars. That's hard. and buildings. 

What do you love about being at a comic con?

Comic cons are an absolute joy for me. The interaction with a keen audience, the curiosity, the encouragement. And meeting my creative heroes, of course.

What comic - other than your own - would you recommend people read?

Right now my pull list includes American Gods, Kill Or Be Killed, Saga, Monstress and Sex Criminals. And the books I read over and over, year on year? The Boys. Scalped. Preacher. Y The Last Man. Rachel Rising and DMZ.  To name but a few.

me.jpg
Closely-The-GraphicNovel.jpg
Page_1.jpg
Rachel.jpg
DMZ11.jpg
The Boys.jpg
Scalped_22.jpg

You can find Grayham online at his website and stop by his table at True Believers 2018 and say "Hello".  Not got your tickets yet, head to our ticket page now to buy yours.